Is there a schedule?

One of my friends from my life in the business world has asked me if I will be posting on line at the same time every day.  If I did, it would make it easier to follow me.  Now that, on the one hand is extremely flattering, that it might be worth scheduling me into a busy diary.  On the other hand, it fills me with anxiety.

Not only would I, a novice blogger, be committed to the postaday2011 challenge, I’d be committing to a daily timetable.  Isn’t the whole point of ‘opting out’ not to have to obey irksome conventional norms?  Can’t I be one those arty types that float about doodling for a bit, being generally flaky about punctuality?

Probably not.

Years of education and professional experience have made me goal orientated – give me a deadline and I’ll meet it.  I am however much less good with promises I make only to myself; I need the risk of someone else’s disappointment to keep me focussed.

I had the great good fortune to be mentored last year by Louise Doughty.  One of the first things she told me was that I had to organise my writing time and commit to it; essentially rephrasing the aphorism about the art of writing being the the art of applying the seat of the pants to the seat of the chair.

So

I’ll give it a go (at least on weekdays)

And now my mind is racing ahead, writing to do lists and consulting my diary to check next week’s appointments.   One of the consequences of aiming for ‘on time publishing’ is that I will need to build up a little store of drafts, a couple in my back pocket and one behind my ear, which can be brushed up swiftly and posted.  Maybe I’ll need a daily alarm on my phone; writing sessions deep into the night; a Gantt chart to manage the process……Stop!

Ooff!

One day at a time…..

Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. margaret nickels

     /  January 10, 2011

    Interesting idea , and will keep you on your toes but ensure that it is not a tail wagging the dog set up ! I am sure that one can be flexible without being at all flaky!

    Reply
  2. don’t forget it is possible to write many many posts beforehand and delay publication on the automatic timer! i have yet to use this, but will certainly do so at some point.

    Reply
    • It’s on my list of things to learn. But I don’t want to become obsessed by the necessity of building up a backlog……

      Reply

Do let me know what you think.......

