What’s the Point?

The question raised by the topic  hint from WordPress a couple of days ago was ‘What do you want to accomplish with your blog?’ and suggested that for many casual visitors it may not always be clear what your blog is about, nor what you are trying to achieve in writing it.  It goes on to recommend that we include a little explanation box on the side of the page.

Now I’m not sure I want to commit myself to that but it’s not a bad time to reflect on what exactly it is I’m doing.  I’m four months in, over 100 posts and counting, and fully expecting reader fatigue.

The eyes of the world

I began because my friend Gillian told me that, as a writer aspiring to be published, I had to learn about the digital world as otherwise I would be a perpetual immigrant and never a native there.  Although I was nervous of it I needed to learn how to use it to my advantage as at the end of the day it is just a tool.

She told me about the postaday challenge and I decided to join her in it.  In retrospect, a wild decision for such a neophyte, but now I’ve kept it  up this long there’s far too much face to be lost in stopping.

All my professional life I have worked towards objectives, year ends, project implementations and measurable outcomes.  In my writing life it has taken me a while to learn that just doodling without any particular end in mind is an essential part of the process.

I started this blogging to see if I could and to see what would come out of it.  But you can’t reverse all that ‘goal orientation’ conditioning, so giving myself a deadline and the requirement to produce something every day has stopped me abandoning it.

Some days are better than others, believe me I know; but somehow knowing that there will be another one tomorrow takes off the pressure.  With a little bit of a deadline I’ve also come up with some things with which I’m quite pleased that really ‘came out of nowhere’.

So apart from all of that, what is this all about?

I’m a storyteller and a noticing kind of a person.  I like making odd connections between ideas to see if I can make something coherent out of them.  I’m interested in the things that feed my imagination, the books I read, the films, TV, and exhibitions I see and to which I have a reaction, or which provoke a response.  I’ve always loved words and playing with them, and I’ve written a novel that I’d like to see published in some form or another.

I write about the things that I would chat about with friends – one of the unfortunate side effects of the challenge is that my discourse is now so frequently peppered with the embarrassed confession ‘I did a blog about that’……

I think that pretty much covers it; still not sure about the box on the side of the page though.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Hi Rowena,

    interesting point, ‘what’s the point?’. Writing is such a solitary and subjective activity and doesn’t always offer up its purpose in straightforward ways, as I’m sure you’ve discovered yourself. Writing ‘into the ether’ is a form of media that remains up for interpretation, when seen through a creative eye.

    I’ve asked myself the same question and it is slowly being answered in what I produce, sometimes the ‘where’ and the ‘how’ adding to that insight.

    I don’t know if you do, but if you re-read your own output, as writers should, at different times and in differing moods and lights, you will see clues as to why what is written is, and often they will quite contrary to what you thought your original motives might have been.

    All of that aside, persist. It is a worthwhile process, the return to the page. It nearly always produces something of value.

    Ingrebourne.

    Reply
    • Hello Ingrebourne
      Thank you for the encouragement. Yes the process of writing itself brings its own rewards. Writing something fit to ‘publish’ every day has its own pressures too; but that pressure has occasionally brought unexpectedly fruitful results. I’ve not revisited any of the early posts yet, but it is always interesting to go back, especially when you get that jolt of surprise of ‘did I really write that?’.

      Reply
  2. margaret nickels

     /  April 22, 2011

    Love the picture today .Is it Nepal by any chance? I know from what is said to me that your writings give a great deal of pleasure to many people; as well as responding quietly to the provocative thread that runs through it !

    Reply
  3. brendan stallard

     /  April 23, 2011

    Rowena,

    As I understand it, the old motto for keeping a diary, was that one day it would keep you.

    I suspect that is mostly for the rich or famous, which I am sure you will be one day. Most of the people who are making money out of blogs are those with half a brain, lots of political opinions and sites that hurt the eye with flash.

    Your blog is the most interesting I have read, and I hope to enjoy your words for a long time to come. You inspire, teach and fascinate.

    How can I put this without it sounding improper? It isn’t, because I’m old, married and at least 4,200 miles away and I don’t drink alcohol.

    That said–.

    You are someone I’d love to share a sherbet with. You have stories enough. An interesting way of telling ’em, and I’m a trained listener:)

    brendan

    Reply
    • Hi Brendan. thank you for your kind words and encouragement. I’m not thinking of stopping, but an occasional review is inevitable. I am hoping, as you suggest, that this, like virtue, will be it’s own reward. I very much appreciate having you as such an enthusiastic and frequent reader. Rowena

      Reply

Do let me know what you think.......

