Rufus Wainwright Buys Bangle

Honestly, the bangle's in the carrier bag.

Apologies, but it’s satisfied my wish to attempt a ridiculous ‘headline’ familiar from the front of a tabloid; pick out the most irrelevant detail of a story and print it big and bold.  It’s even better to be able to write it alongside a slightly odd photo of the ‘celebrity’ in question.

My brush with fame took place last week when I was killing a little bit of time near Charing Cross Road.  I was browsing in the windows of the weird little shops in Cecil Court when I caught sight of Rufus in a shop selling flamboyant costume jewellery.

As always, he looked smaller than I had expected; but then whenever I see anyone familiar to me from the television, they are smaller than I think they should be.  His voice, audible through the open door, was, however, as I had expected: that slightly nasal, languid delivery of his stage persona.

I pretended an avid interest in the broaches and necklaces in the shop window as I watched him, out of the corner of my eye, try different pieces against the lapel of his jacket, looking in the mirror and checking the opinion of his companion.

There’s something fascinating in seeing someone in the flesh whom you’ve previously only ever seen on film; it happens relatively frequently to me as I spend quite a lot of time out and about in London, and I have one of those brains that means I do recognise them and can place them quite quickly even if I can’t remember their names.  But just because I recognise them, it doesn’t mean that I’m deluded enough to think they want to talk to me.

Eventually as Rufus made his final selection of a wide resin bangle and paid for it, I turned away; I hated the thought they might realise I had been spying on them.

Clearly it didn’t stop me taking a photo, no matter from what great distance, and so dominated by the Westminster Council bins, at that.

Maybe I’d have spoken to him if I had tickets to see him at the Royal Opera House where I know he is due to do a residency around about now.  But then again, maybe I wouldn’t have.

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Jill

     /  July 26, 2011

    Rufus Wainwright?

    Reply
  2. What can I say, I love the whole family, but I got to know them through the father.

    Reply
    • That’s interesting – I don’t appreciate Loudon so much. But I’ve only recently heard Martha, on the ‘Rufus does Judy’ recording, and I loved her voice.

      Reply
  3. Jill Goldberg

     /  July 27, 2011

    Thanks for the link. I am still on my first coffee of the day so I’ll need a bit more back-up before I get all the way through the video – perhaps he is an acquired taste, like Turkish pesto? I’ll give him a second chance around lunchtime…

    Reply

Do let me know what you think.......

