Did Blogging Lead to Drawing?

A friend recently asked me if I thought having been doing a blog post a day had led me to undertaking the learning to draw course which I recently completed.

It was a novel thought and something I had not previously considered. My initial reaction was to say ‘no’, but I’ve been thinking about the question since.

I started the blog with the idea of writing something every day; then I started including thumbnail photos, largely because WordPress suggested that the inclusion of a photo improved the look of a blog.  Gradually, I allowed the photos to grow in size, and then, I learned how to use the rudimentary effects in Photoshop, and included the results.  Having started mainly using photos  I already had, I then began taking shots specifically with a blog in mind; or seeing a sight, taking the shot and allowing a blog to grow out of it.

So, this development of photography, although I have taken photographs for many years, is something that has developed as a direct result of doing the blog.

There is a theory that once you open your eyes and mind to one thing, other things follow.  Famously in The Artist’s Way, Julia Cameron posits the idea of ‘synchronicity’, which I have always interpreted as meaning the more open you are to seeing and considering the things you encounter, the more connections and links (what others might call ‘coincidences’) you notice; the more ideas are sparked, the more things you might want to try: the perfect virtuous circle, when it’s working.

I started the blog to explore the online world by writing about my creative adventures and to see what would happen.   It seems that the adventures have provided topics for the blog, and the blog has inspired some of the adventures.

So with the benefit of further consideration, I think I can agree that it is entirely possible that the daily blog did indirectly inspire me to take the drawing course.

And now I’ve identified this cause and effect, I can’t wait to see what will happen next!

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. kathy

     /  August 3, 2011

    I’m with you on that Rowena. I think one aspect of creativity definitely can lead to another. More specifically the ability to really ‘see’ things can’t help but open your mind as well as your eyes.
    ps I really enjoy reading your blog every morning. Thanks so much for writing it!

    Reply
    • Hi Kathy, thanks for reading! This creativity lark is interesting isn’t it? You never know what’s going to happen…..

      Reply
  2. Interesting, Rowena…. what leads to what…. Like you, I have found blogging a rich experience on many levels – and I only blog once a week or so! Respect to you for your persistence! x

    Reply
    • Thanks Voula. Something about the deadline aids production of something, I think…… It’s making the experience in many ways.

      Reply

Do let me know what you think.......

