One Leg at aTime

There’s no accounting for what will pop into my head when facing the need to write something.

This morning a piece of advice I received from an old work colleague came to mind.  He had, for a number of years before I met him worked as an adviser to a well-known wealthy benefactor of the arts.  When I asked him what it was like to work for someone with immense wealth and notoriety, he said that the important thing to know is that when all of that money is stripped away, he was a person like any other, and the best way to achieve that was remember that he had to put his trousers on one leg at a time, like everyone else.

When I, in my turn, had my own encounters with a very rich man, I had that advice very much at the forefront of my mind.  And very helpful it was too.

Just a brief thought for the day, today.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. margaret nickels

     /  August 31, 2011

    And very helpful and apposite ; also slightly more elegantly expressed than some other versions I have heard of !

    Reply
    • I’ve heard some of the less savoury expressions too; but this is the one that’s worked for me!

      Reply

Do let me know what you think.......

