A Major Haircut

After the over zealous trainee had swept up the first cut

My brief flirtation with having long hair came to an end yesterday when I had about 7 inches of it cut off.  OK, so perhaps it wasn’t that brief, because even though it grows quickly, it still took a couple of years to reach that length, but it did always feel a bit like a temporary experiment.

I think one of my problems was that I had never been trained in the ways of long hair, and always thought of myself as someone with short hair.  As a child, my mother always insisted that I have it short, and as a teenager in the 1970s, before the advent of sleek styling products for frizzy and unruly hair, it tended to grow out rather than down.  I could give Crystal Tipps or Barbara Dickson in her most blooming phase, a run for their money.

I managed my long hair only with the help of a professional; without a proper expert styling blow-dry all I did was tie it back.  One friend, you know the type who says the sort of things that only a good friend will tell you, suggested that ‘at our age’ with hair that’s too long, we risked looking like Mrs Walton, or the mother in ‘Six Feet Under’.  To those unflattering images I added fear of ending up with hair like Mary Beard’s.  (Don’t get me wrong, I admire her intellect immensely; but not her coiffure choices.)  So off I went to be shorn.

I spent a fair amount of time looking through hairstyle magazines comparing and contrasting styles.  Who knew there were so many?

When I finally pointed out a couple of options which I thought were really quite different one from the other to C, the stylist, she nodded and said ‘So a layered bob, then?’.

I nodded and replied ‘I want to see a big pile of hair on the floor.’

I would have liked to have a photo to show the pile, but the dutiful junior had swept up the first cut before I noticed, so there was only the result of the second and third stages of the process by the time I looked at the floor.

I’d expected a little more concern on C’s part; a few more enquiries to confirm that I was really sure I wanted so much cut off, but no, she just confirmed that it would be a bob, and off she went snipping away until I was well and truly bobbed.

But it didn’t stop me thinking about the phraseology.  I had a haircut; C gave me a haircut; in the recent turmoil in the financial markets my pension fund has taken a haircut.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. It’s not so bad, honest…!

    Reply
    • Oh My Lord! Clearly I should have consulted on the opposing opinions before being bobbed. (And thought a bit more about the power of the internet….)

      Reply
  2. kathy

     /  September 3, 2011

    er..photo’s please kx

    Reply
  3. Jill Goldberg

     /  September 4, 2011

    Change is good, and i’m sure your layered bob is gorgeous. I’ve been telling myself i’m going to have long hair for the last time before i turn 50, but that happens next month and I’m still growing out from the last impulsive bob…

    Reply
    • There is some magic associated with the half century mark, isn’t there? It influenced my thinking too, but it’s been and gone for me, so I expect I shall be bobbed for good now! I hope you are planning a party for next month as the ‘big’ birthdays shouldn’t pass unnoticed….

      Reply

Do let me know what you think.......

