A Song For Every Occasion?

There’s a song for every occasion, isn’t there?  There are the melodies that evoke a particular time and place; the ones that were played at the school disco, or the ones that accompanied revision or a particular holiday on the beach.

But there are also those other ones; those that have stuck in your head, even though they were awful at the time and have certainly not improved with age.  Somehow, though, they’ve something inescapably catchy about them, and, no matter how you try to suppress them, they arrive unbidden at the smallest of prompts.

Recently a friend’s child was telling me about her first trip to an American summer camp, and I simply couldn’t resist the first lines of  ‘Hello Mudda, Hello Fadda’, evoking my own memories of that radio stalwart of ‘Two Way Family Favourites’ …..indelibly marking me out as from a different generation from both parent and child because I had to explain the programme to both of them.

We moved on from that to a quick solo on a newly acquired ukulele, in response to which I enquired about the chances of hearing a rendition of ‘When I’m Cleaning Windows’.  Youtube came to the rescue again; that source of even the most arcane things, including a little photo montage of George Formby.

So to explain a potential bumpiness in the blog over the next couple of days, I offer up this oddity, for which I’m embarrassed to admit I could remember nearly all the lyrics even before I located this rendition…..

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Jill

     /  September 8, 2011

    Thanks for nothing. Despite my best efforts, this &*^% song is going to be on my mind for the next four days now….

    Reply
  2. margaret nickels

     /  September 8, 2011

    Bon Voyage et bon retour !

    Reply
  3. Jill

     /  September 8, 2011

    Still singing…

    Reply

Do let me know what you think.......

