Traces of Autumn

When I opened the curtains on Sunday morning I actually rubbed my eyes to check that there was noting in them, so little could I see through the window.  Thick fog was blanketing what little distance my eye could see.

The leaves on the trees have been falling for some time, but suddenly it feels as if there are more of them on the ground, collecting at the side of pavements in wet, potentially treacherous piles, ready to slide underneath the foot of the person not taking enough care.

The smell of autumn is in the air too, loamy and damp, concentrated by the moisture hanging in the air, wetting my hair and coat in a shower of tiny droplets.

As I was walking to the Tube station however, I was transfixed by an area of pavement bearing the ghostly traces of leaves which must have since blown away.

How does this happen?  I expect there is some scientific explanation involving rain, length of exposure and perfection of leaf form, but I prefer to think of artistic elves stamping out a trail from their home to an autumnal feast.

Maybe you’ve seen them at work?

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. margaret nickels

     /  November 22, 2011

    Beautiful pics .

    Reply
  2. Jill Goldberg

     /  November 23, 2011

    It is odd and lovely, I have never seen that before. I think you are wrong about the elves, though. They prefer to leave no trace of their comings and goings, and are certainly not likely to leave such obvious prints.

    Reply
  3. Wow, I have never seen this before, or maybe, I never stopped to notice. This is quite beautiful, thank you for sharing.

    Reply

Do let me know what you think.......

