Everybody’s Searching

I don’t often look at the statistics about visitors to the blog provided by WordPress any more.  At the start of my year of blogging I was borderline obsessive about checking on the number of hits and always wondering who was reading and how they’d found me.

Recently however I noticed a spike in hits on the summary which piqued my curiosity, and I discovered that it can all be attributed to my recent post on my visit to the Leonardo exhibition.  Assuming the people who have arrived on my site are a small proportion of those who are interested in the show, there are a huge number of art lovers out there looking for information about it, or more specifically, about the queue for tickets.  The search terms used are any many and various but are made up from any combination of the following words….. Leonardo, National Gallery, exhibition, line, queue, queueing, wait, waiting, how long, where, what, when, time, morning, ticket, days, do I have to, why, buy.

I’m not sure if the person looking for ‘dali stuffed crocodile’ found what they wanted, but I hope that anyone looking for some indication of what they might expect went away satisfied.  I don’t know, as no-one has let me know.

While I was in the statistics page of the site I also cleared out the spam box.  Most spam is diverted by a filter, but a few bits arrive every day.  Mostly they are oddly spelt, random words, or ‘grate posts’ comments from senders with strange .cx email addresses.

A couple made me laugh for a moment before I deleted them; the first was something along the lines of ‘deeply spiritual; have you thought about preaching?’ aimed at a particularly frivolous post about something trivial; the second was a series of ‘I don’t know why I’m reading this rubbish, why are you wasting my time? There are much better things out there’, peppered across a number of both recent and really quite old posts.  This seems a particularly ineffective form of spam – but thanks for sending it, it really made me chuckle.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Jill Goldberg

     /  December 14, 2011

    I guess we’d be surprised how many people are into stuffed crocodiles.

    And so are you starting to wind down, now that the year is coming to an end and your blog commitment is nearly fulfilled? It’s going to leave a big gap in my internet life – my morning work routine will never be the same. I really will miss your posts.

    Reply
    • Hi Jill. I’m up to 340ish post, but don’t write me off just yet; I’m still thinking about what I’m going to do with the blog next year – it’s become a bit of a habit…..

      Reply
  2. Jill Goldberg

     /  December 15, 2011

    SO SO glad to hear it. I’m going to be starting a blog myself but it will tie into an online business that I’m setting up so the focus will be arts and crafts. Nothing as intellectual as reviews of plays or literary opinions or philosophical reflections on the interplay of dew and spiders’ webs 🙂

    Reply
    • Thanks Jill. What a memory you have! It will be good to have you as a blogging buddy – do let me know the address to your site. Rowena

      Reply

Do let me know what you think.......

