360 and Still Counting

With unexpected numerical neatness, this is my 360th post since I began this blogging adventure at the beginning of 2011.  This count includes something every day, apart from one, since 5 January.  That’s quite a surprising statistic, even if I say so myself.

None of the posts contains anything very significant, sometimes a bit of a rant, a few reviews of theatre, films and books, random photos from long ago holidays; it probably builds up to a picture of vague impressions of my idiosyncratic engagement with the world.  That’s part of the point of it, when I come to think about it for a moment.  If I thought any of the posts had to bear the weight of saying something specific, relevant or deep, then I think I might have been paralysed, my fingers hovering uncertainly over the keyboard.  Knowing that if today’s isn’t great, there’ll be another one tomorrow, has afforded me an unexpected freedom from worrying unduly about any individual element.

Although my original commitment was to write the blog for a year, I have decided to continue, although how this continuation will manifest is something I’m still thinking about.  I have decided that I will experiment with the way the thing looks, so sometime soon you may arrive here and wonder at the change in appearance, but I’m ready for a change, to see if that generates something new.  In the meantime I will continue to gently amble along with the random ideas that life throws in my path.  Do let me know what you think.

In the meantime, thank you for sharing this experiment with me and giving me your tremendous feedback and extra ideas.  Discovering that there are readers out there has been one of the greatest surprises of all.

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Firstly, congratulations! 360 blogs is an amazing achievement. I’m so pleased you’ve decided to continue as you’ve become a part of my daily ritual; once up and about, I get myself a drink and then have a look to see what you’ve written. Some have been highly entertaining, some extremely educational and others very thought provoking looking at the world from a different persepective. Long may they continue 🙂

    Reply
    • Thank you Jane. You know you have inspired some of them! I’m pleased you enjoy them, and I will try to keep them entertaining. It’s been an interesting experience, and has I think made me look at things/life etc in a positive way, to take the bits and pieces thrown at me and to make something with them. Thank you for all your support, in this and everything else!

      Reply
  2. Jill Goldberg

     /  January 2, 2012

    What Jane said. (Although it’s possible she has a bit of a drinking problem – see what she says she does as soon as she’s up and about…).

    My engagement with the social side of internet-working really took off when I registered for an online writing course, and the student forum extended itself to facebook after the course ended. From there I went on to begin a series of ‘hidden treasures’, photographs of lovely or unusual or weird things or places that just happened to cross my path. I post one every day. It has encouraged me to look at the world and the space I live in in different ways. I see things I don’t think I would have if I hadn’t started carting my camera around with me. Your daily blogs have been a large part of that. I think I started reading you around April or May last year, and was hooked straight off. I don’t need to tell you how much s##t there is on the internet – I knew I could open your blog (often getting there long before you had even posted, guess it’s because South Africa is two hours ahead…) and find some fascinating or funny or clever (or all of the above) piece about something that would catch my attention. You have never let me down 🙂
    So, while we may never share an early supper in our favourite restaurant, or meet for a shopping outing in Cavendish Square, or be the first person either of us phones when we have a problem, I still think of you as a friend. Quite a good one, actually, despite not having met you in person.

    Well, it’s 8.05am here now. Time to me for have a drink…

    Reply
    • Ha, it is possible that drinking helps with the reading! (although I suspect it might be lemon and hot water some mornings…..) Thank you for your lovely comments, Jill. I look forward to hearing your reactions to the posts, so I cannot thank you enough for being such a regular and friendly reader.

      I’ve also started taking photos for the blog where previously I would never have dreamt of it; and what constitutes a ‘good’ photos has changed, especially since I started experimenting with Photoshop basics. What is the address of your photo blog? – I’ve looked back through but I can’t find it (huge apologies if you have told me) and a google search brought me thousands of not entirely relevant suggestions!

      It has been so rewarding making these connections with you, and when my enthusiasm for the blog has wavered I’ve always felt that you would indulge me in something trivial, until I regrouped, and that was extremely helpful to my ability to keep going and maintain momentum. Thank you.

      Reply
  3. margaret nickels

     /  January 2, 2012

    Long may it all continue and well done on so many levels !!

    Reply
  4. Jill Goldberg

     /  January 2, 2012

    I don’t have a photo blog, I just have facebook albums and add a new image every day/almost every day. I have taken the liberty of sending you a friend request. There are now three albums of Hidden Treasures…
    In the next couple of months, I and 3 friends will be launching an online magazine, later to become a proper site, to which I will attach blogs, newsletters, promotions, news of craft workshops, etc. I will keep you posted about this as well, just in case you are interested in mosaicing platters and making beaded tassels and crocheted slippers!!! From small seeds…

    Reply

Do let me know what you think.......

