Back At The Easel

I started another drawing course on Friday.  It’s not that I think I’ve any great talent; it’s more that I find it an entirely engrossing activity as well as a huge challenge, and I think it makes me look at things differently.

This course will run for 10 Fridays up until the end of March, and is focussed on the use of materials and mark making.  It’s a small class in which a couple of the other participants are taking it as part of their progress towards a Certificate.  I am the least experienced by a country mile, so I’m sure I’ll learn a lot from looking at how they achieve the results that they do.

Watching people’s reactions to being asked to do something they’d not expected is always interesting to me.  I got over my fear of showing off my sketches in the first course I did.  I know I have everything to learn, that you only advance by having a go, so I might as well get on with it, as my instinctive response is as valid as the next person’s even if my execution of it may be towards the cack-handed end of the spectrum.  There’s always someone who want to make sure they’re doing it the right way, before they start.

And that’s always going to be tricky with Fabia, as she wants everyone in the class to learn by doing.

Week One was about texture.  And the best way to think about texture?  To feel stuff, of course.

There was a closed shoe box with a circular hole in one end for each of us.  We had to put our hands in the box, feel the object inside, and then draw what we thought it felt like.  Fabia described each as ‘a composite object’, and she had clearly had a lot of fun creating them.  My first was some sort of springy metal kitchen whisk wrapped in tough foam sponge, but I only knew that when the box was opened at the end of the session.  In the meantime, trying to draw something spongy with a metal spine produced too comical a result to be shown outside the room.  The clammy plastic cover from a Wii controller wrapped around a pumice stone and secured with fishing wire inspired something no less weird.

For the afternoon session Fabia constructed a pile of things on a table in the middle of the room: velvet drapes, rolls of calico, pine cones, brown paper, bubble wrap, stones, paint brushes, a kettle, a ram’s skull, leaves, sticks, bulldog clips and a peacock fan.

We were each invited to select the vantage point we preferred.  Immediately attracted by the peacock feathers, I thought there would be competition for that angle, but it turned out everyone else positively shied away from it, preferring instead, what to me would be the worst things to have to attempt, the shininess of the kettle and the scrunched up sheets of brown paper.  More proof that each of us is attracted to different things.

I think I was more successful with the feathers than I was with the bubble wrap……success being a relative term, of course.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Do let me know what you think.......

