The Year of the Dragon

I sometimes forget to appreciate London, its multiplicity of tones and flavours and the random happenstance which can surprise and entertain.

On Monday I was walking from Piccadilly Circus to Covent Garden, from one meeting to another, and decided to go via Gerrard Street to see how it had been decorated for Chinese New Year.

The sound of approaching drums and cymbals drew me back to Wardour Street, where two dragons were processing around China Town, drawing a crowd at every pause, where before there had merely been people strolling along  the street.

A couple of my friends have recently been speaking about ‘mindfulness’ and the need for it.  I’m not sure I really understand what it means, but meeting dragons in the street by chance, reminded me that it’s always better to walk around with my eyes properly open, and not simply rush from A to B.

Happy New Year!

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Good stuff. I’m going to send this post to Alex – she’s leaving for your part of the world this evening, so if the dragons are still there she can check them out herself. Also the part about mindfulness – thank you for reminding me. 🙂

    Reply
  2. 念 Nian Chinese for mindfulness.

    Reply
  3. margaret nickels

     /  January 25, 2012

    How wonderful ! I wish that I could see it .I am a Dragon.

    Reply

Do let me know what you think.......

