RIP – Davy Jones

I was both surprised and sad to hear of the death of Davy Jones, as well as surprised at how sad the news made me.  The Monkees were such a part of childhood memories, for what now feels like a long time, the programme was one of my favourites.  And I loved to sing along with all the songs, and dance around the room with their silly antics.

Many years later, my path finally crossed that of  another person fond of their songs, a member of a group I was trekking with  in the Cordillera Huayhuash in Peru.  At the back of the party, I was kept encouraged when the path was steep and tricky, one foot in front of the other, by singing along with extemporised dododoing, do-wopping and  nanananaing in what I considered to be suitable places, accompanying D, who as well as maintaining a nice even walking pace, kept the main melody motoring along .

Our duets became the thing of legend, requiring a grand performance at the end of trek party.  The rendition was recorded on an early MP3 player, which with its earphones was subsequently passed around the bus back to Huaraz.  You could tell where it was at any given moment – whoever was giggling uncontrollably had it.

Our favourite was ‘I’m a Believer’ and this a much better rendition….

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. brendan stallard

     /  March 1, 2012

    Rowena,

    Er, I think a more appropriate tribute to Davy Jones would be, “Daydream Believer,” on which he sang lead vocal. The song you highlight, “I’m a believer,” was lead sung by Micky Dolenz.

    Jones had much the sweeter voice and by every account I’ve ever read, and one personal experience, was a much nicer fellow than Dolenz.

    The group have been trying to get together for a tour and album for “ever,” and Dolenz has simply refused to be involved.

    I was “dragged,” along to see, “Godspell,” at Stevenage in the 80’s and at the end of the show the audience were invited onto the stage for a glass of wine and Jones shook my hand and yapped for a while. I remember thinking how physically small he was, but how he shone. Can’t explain it any better than that. With hundreds of lummock fans roiling about, he was perfectly calm sharing a glass of red plonk with me. I had always liked him, and liked him even more after that.

    Can’t say the same about the a$#hat Dolenz.

    RIP Davy, a nice guy in a vile biz. The world, (and me) is a poorer place without ye, lad.

    brendan

    Reply
    • No Brendan, in ‘I’m a Believer’ Davy was singing MY part – the lalalas and heyheys (and shaking the marraccas!). It’s my favourite and that’s why it’s my tribute – it wouldn’t have been the same without him there at the front!

      Reply

Do let me know what you think.......

