Unusual – A Photo

If not exactly unusual, this is more incongruous or perhaps, unexpected.

I noticed these trees on my way to my class on Friday.  Maybe learning to drawing is making me see my surroundings more acutely, even though I’ve always thought I’m a noticing sort of person, but I’d never even noticed there were trees there before.

They are in glorious flower even though they are apparently planted directly in the concrete of the pavement.  It’s an otherwise entirely unprepossessing urban corner in a shabby part of south London outside Borough Tube station, on the corner of Borough High Street, Marshalsea Rd and Great Dover Street.

Maybe they are part of the yard of St George the Martyr, the church beside which they stand, but you’d need to be severely in need of a sit down for the bench to be an attractive place to rest, taking into account all the traffic swirling around the spot.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. akandrewcom

     /  March 18, 2012

    It’s such a pleasant surprise to see them Rowena. But I think all aspects of visual art heighten your senses, especially when you’re involved in a class that’s focussing on it. It’s a whole knew world out there eh?

    Reply
    • Spring brings it all forefront and centre again too, doesn’t it? I remember when I was in Moscow being surprised by how many trees there were that I’d simply not noticed until Spring came.

      Reply
  2. Isn’t is wonderful how Spring can bring beauty to a drab part of our world?

    Reply

Do let me know what you think.......

