The Return of Normal Spring

After a week of brilliant sunshine and warm air, yesterday I was back in my jumper, and the central heating came on again in the evening.

To prolong the memory of the premature summer days here is one of the photographs I took on Wednesday afternoon when I was at the British Library to meet a friend.  Our arrangement was to meet in the small cafe, a sort of box in the outside courtyard, so I started out there, but only until the heat became unbearable, akin as it was to an oven.

It felt cool by comparison when I first went outside, as at least there was a small circulation of air, but within a quarter of an hour or so I had started to simmer again.  So was relieved when J arrived and agreed it was too hot to sit in the sun and we repaired to the shaded area usually the year round preserve of the smokers.

It is so rare for us to see cloudless deep blue sky in London that I kept taking photos of it, although I never quite manage to capture its unexpected depth and brilliance.

It was almost like being abroad.

Leave a comment

Do let me know what you think.......

