A Monsoon Wedding

I was fortunate to be invited to the party to celebrate a wedding this weekend.  As I’ve always coveted a sari, although I suspect I might look a bit odd in one, I was fascinated by all the fabulous fabrics and colours many of the ladies were wearing.

Early in the evening the dance floor was dominated by women, while the men stood at the far end of the room, convenient for the bar.  Later, after the refreshments had taken effect, the men joined in the dancing,

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. You must get a sari, they suit everyone. There is nothing like it to make you feel elegant and glamorous! I have one and it hides all my recklessness with calories. Plus you can pile on the bling and it doesn’t look over the top. The only thing is that you have to learn how to wrap it properly – the first time I wore mine I spent hours with printed instructions and two boxes of safety pins. By the time I’d finished I felt like I weighed a couple of kilos more and could hardly move one foot in front of the other, so I got advice from an Indian friend and took my sari back to the shop so they could self-pleat it. Now it’s a pleasure to wear, but I still keep it only for special occasions.

    Reply
    • I did try some on in a shop in Pokara in Nepal years ago, and it was a wonderful experience, all the rolls of material being unwound for our pleasure, but I was a bit too tall for the ones they had there – unsurprisingly, as I’m a good foot taller than your average Nepali lady. A friend at university, who is as tall as me bought one in India, and then tried to have it ‘lengthened’ by a sari shop in Birmingham (where there is a large Indian community), but it wasn’t successful, so her experience has deterred me. But that is over 30 years ago, so maybe as young women are getting taller they may make the fabric wider to make a longer skirt……

      Reply
  2. I agree the fabrics are out of this world. It is one of life’s great joys to sit down in a sari shop to be regaled by the attendants casting one sari after another into the air so they flutter toward your knees like a succession of flamboyantly hued silken birds. I don’t agree however that they suit everybody – tall, fair, short haired westerners mostly look like wannabes, though I have seen the occasional dramatic exception to this judgmental assessment:)

    Reply
    • My one experience of trying on saris was wonderful fun, in a riot of fabulous fabrics, but, as you say, there is a risk that I could look as if I’m in fancy dress, rather than the elegance I would be striving for!

      Reply

Do let me know what you think.......

