Making Something Out of Bits and Pieces

This learning to draw endeavour might have got a little bit out of hand.  Some have suggested that I’ve been doing the art classes as a displacement activity so I don’t have to sit down and finish my novel, and that may well be the case.  It is most likely true of my participation this week in a class learning about sculpture.

I signed up for the weeks’ course on the basis that I enjoyed the makey do-y days in drawing last term, but after the first day, I think it’s fair to say that I’ve not uncovered  a hitherto undiscovered aptitude.

We were set various tasks during the day, to reflect the essence or balance of an organic object provided by the teacher, in my case a tangle of drift wood and seaweed…. and there I was plaiting masking tape again.

Being set a challenge to produce a heavy closed object and a light open one, out of only newspaper and tape, nearly did me in.  What to do to make something look heavy, or indeed, light?  Could each class member tell which was which?  Not necessarily.  Things which I’d hope would look substantial didn’t, but looked dull and not even that solid.  Things which I’d hoped would simply float away so light were they, overbalanced and fell on the table.

It’s a different way of looking at things, and surely that’s got to be a good thing, doesn’t it?

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I wish there was a way to say LOL without having to say LOL (for oh so many reasons), but, really, LOL !!!

    Reply

Do let me know what you think.......

