Awards and Connections

I’m very grateful to Cecile’s Writers for a nomination for One Lovely Blog Award.  Cecile’s Writers are a group of English language writer in The Hague, and I enjoy their take on life and literature.

As always the rules for the award are clear.

1.  Thanks to the nominator.

2. Note seven random things about yourself

3. Nominate other bloggers for the award.  (I’ll be honest, this is where I feel I might often be dropping the ball on keeping the chain alive, so forgive me ……..)

It’s all random:

1.  REM and Mary Chapin Carpenter: who says they have nothing in common?  The most represented artistes on my iPod.

2.  I can’t abide honey.  Chocolate, on the other hand, is an entirely different matter.

3. I’ve been on camping trips and trekking journeys but I’ve never put up a tent, and have no intention of ever doing so.

4.  I rarely buy milk as I don’t use it much.   If you want it with your tea or coffee, you’ll need to bring it with you.

5. I’ve never managed to watch a whole episode of any TV talent show or Big Brother type thing.

6. There’s nothing like the comfortable feeling of having a new TV DVD box set ready to watch – three episodes at a time is usually enough.

7. I always read the last couple of pages in a novel when I’m about a third of the way through; this might be why I’ve not totally fallen in love with my Kindle.

And

The Nominations are:

These are the blogs I read regualrly and are all already well recognised and lauded, but do check them out if you haven’t already:

Nice Piece of Work 

The Wanderlust Gene

Where’s My Backpack?

AK Andrew writer

Voula Grand

Isabel Costello Literary Sofa

Kim Moore Poet

Margaret’s Miscellany

Rubicorno

Anarty

Canadian Hiking Photography

The Diary of a Retiree

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. I’m with you on #3, but #7 is just plain odd. No offence 🙂
    Thank you so much for including me, I’m very honoured to be on the list with all these literary/arty/clever people. I’ll have to try and take it up a notch.
    x

    Reply
    • Odd it may be, but I can trace it directly back to my English teacher in my first year of secondary school, Miss Howieson, an otherwise stultifyingly dull traditionalist. When she distributed ‘The Master of Ballantrae’ (not RL Stevenson’s finest work) to the class, she made us all read the last chapter in class before we started at the beginning. To this day I’ve not yet read the middle chapters!

      Reply
  2. LOL. You made me think of ‘When Harry Met Sally’ with number 7!

    Reply
  3. Who told you you can’t jump forward to peek at the end on your Kindle, Rowena? Well-deserved recognition for your blog, and wow, thanks 🙂

    Reply
    • Thanks Wanderlust. I’ve not been able to work out how to get back to where I was on the Kindle if I do flick forward, and that’s what I find so unsatisfactory. There’s room for both sorts of ‘book’; I mix it up now, sometimes with a ‘real’ book, and then a couple of Kindle ones.

      Reply
      • The Wanderlust Gene

         /  October 14, 2012

        Yes, you do have to remember what page (location) you were on which I don’t find too difficult because I never seem to have a bookmark and I refuse to turn the corners … 🙂

      • I’ve never managed to work out on the Kindle how to use the ‘go back to that specific page’ function; it will never respond for me. Turning down the corners of a page is an act of vandalism! Glad to hear you don’t!

      • The Wanderlust Gene

         /  October 16, 2012

        Kindle on my iPad has an open book symbol in the centre of five symbols at the bottom of the ‘page’. I hit location, enter a page number, and off it goes!

      • I’ve not gone the iPad route yet, but that seems to be a superior feature not available on my ordinary Kindle…….

      • Ummm – I see. What a shame. I even have that feature on my Kindle for iPhone …

Do let me know what you think.......

