East Does Meet West

IMG_3228I walked past this shop every day of my stay in Istanbul as it was near our hotel.  It’s typical of the displays in the many confectionery stores in the city.  As you might expect there was no shortage of places from which to buy Turkish Delight.  I’d never known before that it was made in long rolls before being cut into smaller pieces, and all the displays made the most of the shapes, colours and the cross sectional patterns of the sweeties.

It was only when I started looking at all the photos I took (and that’s going to take a while as  I took over 200 over the four day period, so there will be more to come(!)) that I noticed the reflection in the glass from across the road.  It’s a juxtaposition typical of many of the experiences in the city……

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. MacDelight 🙂

    Reply
  2. so much yummy !!!!

    Reply
  3. Love the East-meets-West of Istanbul! Such a special place. Great shot!

    Reply
    • Thank you for taking the time to comment. It is a fantastic city to which I hope to return.

      Reply

Do let me know what you think.......

