Bracing Myself Against the Wind

2013-04-16 15.54.29It had stopped raining for long enough for the idea of a walk to be not quite so preposterous as earlier in the day, but I didn’t want to go too far in case it started again.  So I followed the dog walkers’ path through the woods and up to the town’s reservoir.  The wind flattened my jacket against me and threatened to tug my borrowed hat away onto the hillside; when I hesitated on where to place my feet to avoid the worst of the muddy puddles it tried to unbalance me, and it whipped up the surface of the water as if the furies were racing by.

The sun, when it broke through the cloud brought the water into a sudden sharp knife silver, and disappeared as quickly as it came.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. sounds like you should have been wearing the big furry russian hat (gravatar) 🙂

    Reply
    • Regrettably I didn’t bring it with me, but really it’s not that cold, it’s just unbelievably windy (and wet).

      Reply

Do let me know what you think.......

