Doubly Liebstered

I have been doubly pleased that in the last few days I have been passed the Liebster Award baton by two new friends and bloggers: Jackie Buxton and Louise Walters.  Thank you, ladies.

A little bit overwhelmed I have debated how to handle the need to answer 22 questions and provide additional random facts, as well as pass on the prize to other fantastic bloggers……

So…..

I’ve decided to answer all the questions,by which time I’m fairly sure I will have run out of steam and you will have lost interest.  In ‘old’ days of chain letters, I was often the end of the line, usually too idle or distracted to pass them on.  Now it’s all electronic, I’m even worse, so I will suggest a list of my favourite bloggers, even though I know that some of them tend not to participate in the awards round robbins; that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t give them a little visit.

Both Jackie and Louise are new friends whom I met (both online and in the ‘Real World’) indirectly through Twitter, and the networking skills and tremendous generosity of Jane Rusbridge, Isabel Costello and Gillian Stern; one in the eye for the naysayers still doubting the benefits of social media networking.

So to Jackie’s questions first:

  1. Cheese or chocolate?  Both, although at the moment I’m trying to avoid cakes and sweets, so cheese has the upper hand just now.
  2. If you had to go on Britain’s Got Talent, what would you do? (Apart from run away …) Play dead.
  3. What’s your best childhood memory? Too difficult….one of my earliest is wandering off on my own at Butlins and winning a penny out of a one armed bandit.  The shine was taken off this at the time by being arrested not long after by the busybody woman from the chalet next door who took me to the nursery from which I had to be liberated by my mother.
  4. Favourite song lyric?  I’m hopeless with lyrics; I like the sounds of the words in my favourite songs rather than the meaning, which I frequently mishear anyway.  If pushed it would have to be Mary Chapin Carpenter’s ‘He thinks he’ll keep her’, or anything by Stephen Sondheim, my particular favourite from Follies being:  In the depths of her interior, Were fears she was inferior,

    And something even eerier, But no-one dared to query her superior exterior.

  5. If you could ask one question of your great-grandmother, what would it be?  Tell me a story from your childhood.
  6. Have you ever lived abroad?  When I was a child my family lived in the US, first in Bethesda, Maryland and then in St Louis, Missouri for two and a half years.  I lived and worked in Moscow for a couple of years in the mid 1990s.
  7. What’s your dream job?  Casting director
  8. What job couldn’t they pay you enough money to do?  Call centre ‘operative’
  9. If you were prime minster, what would be your first priority?  Find some people who’ve had proper jobs to work in government.
  10. Twitter or Facebook?  Twitter for the people I have met through it; but there are a couple of people with whom I communicate mainly through Facebook.
  11. What would your perfect day look like? Leisurely breakfast on a sunny terrace by the sea, a walk along a high ridge for fantastic views, jolly conversation with friends, champagne and oysters and finally a night at the theatre seeing an engrossing play which might bring a discrete tear to the eye before the lights go up.

And now, if you’re still with me,  Louise’s questions:

1. What’s your favourite novel and what do you love about it?  It depends on the day of the week and the period of my life.  As a teenager I devoured the Russian classics much more readily than Dickens and Austen, so although I probably didn’t understand the philosophy or history in it, I loved War and Peace, and read it sitting with my back against the radiator in my bedroom with Jethro Tull on the record player.  It was the attraction of the individual human stories set against the sweep of history that has stayed with me.
2. Do you have any pet peeves in fiction? Writers who should know better using non standard spelling and punctuation (Ever tried to read a James Kelman? and don’t get me started on The True History of the Kelly Gang….)
3. What are you most proud of?  Doesn’t that come before a fall?
4. Your most and least favourite people in history?  Impossible… so today I’ll plump for Marie Curie and Stalin if only for the fun of juxtaposing them in the same sentence.
5. The country, city or other place you’d most like to visit? Iceland has been on my list for years, and Buenos Aires,  Santa Fe, Chicago, Alaska and Rajasthan ……..
6. Which five people would you like to meet (dead, alive or fictional)?  Vanessa Bell, Maggie Smith, Edith Wharton, Iris Murdoch and Damian Lewis would make for a pretty interesting dinner party……
7. What makes you laugh the most?  Life
8. If you could know the future, what would you wish for?  That I could see my novels published, and that me and mine will live long and healthy lives.
9. If you won the lottery and could donate money to charity, which charity would you choose and why? Cancer Research because of those I know affected by the disease, and NDCS (charity for deaf children).  My first primary school had a special unit for deaf children who were also taught in my class.  At the time their hearing aids were huge boxes hanging round their necks and bouncing off their chests, but the children never seemed to be able to keep up with what was going on. As a child I thought they seemed to miss out on so much fun even with the conspicuous and ugly hearing aids, and it has left a lifelong impression on me.
10. Do you suffer from any little phobias or superstitions? I’m a bit claustrophobic and would never go pot-holing, the very thought makes me feel a bit peculiar.
11. What’s your favourite guilty pleasure?  At the moment it’s True Blood the HBO series; I’m up to Season 5 .  I love the pure over the topness of it.
Aach, now you can’t possible want to know anything more about me.
So away and visit these blogs:
Previous Post
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. You brave girl! X

    Reply
  2. louisewalters12

     /  June 11, 2013

    I didn’t know Jackie had Liebstered you too! At least they were a different set of questions. You are an interesting person, and it’s great that via Twitter and Gillian et al, we’ve been able to meet IRL.

    Reply
    • Thank you for the Liebstering – it took me a while to think of things to say to all the questions, but in the end it was fun! The titter lunches have opened a lot of fun connections.

      Reply
  3. “Iceland has been on my list for years, and Buenos Aires, Santa Fe, Chicago, Alaska and Rajasthan …”
    Go girl Go…I am sitting in my wee house waiting for your next travel adventure.

    Reply
  4. YAY! I knew your answers would be great – don’t think anyone could top you playing ‘dead’ on Britain’s Got Talent and I love the pride and the fall in answer to one of Louise’s questions – chortle chortle! It does take a while, doesn’t it, but it’s a great read for the rest of us so thank you 🙂

    Reply

Do let me know what you think.......

