Another Medal for Mozambique is on the Way

2014-07-31 06.35.27The big news of the day is Mozambique is on track to win another medal – in Women’s Boxing.   Maria Machongua in the Women’s Light 57-60kg category is sure to get something; one more round will determine which colour.  There are only three girls in the team here in Glasgow, and two of them will have won medals.  I will forbear from making a politically feminist remark at this juncture.  …….  Go Girls!

There was a lot of excitement when the team got back in the car after the bout.  But it was all go last night; no time for hanging about at the SECC, but straight off to Hampden Park for some athletics.

It was my first trip there; I managed to get to the traffic jam around the stadium with no trouble, and if I had managed to work out where I was in relation to it (broadly is it to the East of me, or to the West) my passengers might have thought that I had navigated perfectly when we arrived at the right entrance entirely by chance and just at the moment I was about to start apologising for getting lost.  You wouldn’t think it would be so hard to spot a sports venue of that size when you’re so close to it!

I can’t let the dinner I had at the Village last night pass unremarked; a perfect exemplar of Scottish canteen: chilli con carne, roast potatoes with mixed corn and green beans.  The alternative was a beefburger in a bread roll, with roast potatoes……

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Lesley Stead

     /  August 6, 2014

    Enjoying your blog, sitting in sunshine at four seasons hotel with Tim. You seem to be having a great time!

    Reply
    • How amazing to hear from you. Volunteering at the Games has been a once in a life time experience.

      Reply

Do let me know what you think.......

